SSM Soccer Earns Multiple U.S. Soccer Development Academy Awards


FARIBAULT, MINN. - Shattuck-St. Mary’s Soccer Center of Excellence (COE) athletes Antino Lopez ‘20 and Nadia Cooper ‘21, along with administrator Marc Sutton, were recognized for their outstanding work both on and off the field this season by the U.S. Soccer Development Academy at their annual year-end award ceremony on June 22. 

Antino Lopez ‘20 was named one of the Boys Best XI defenders in the Central region after an impressive season with the Boys U17 team, who made it all the way to the quarterfinals in the 2019 U.S. Soccer Development Academy Playoffs.

“Antino embodies the person, the student, and the player we want at SSM. This recognition was just a small part of understanding the work he has put in over the years. I have every confidence that Antino will continue putting his best forward each day,” said Sean Bushey, Boys U17 head coach and Director of SSM’s Boys Soccer COE Program. 

Texas native Nadia Cooper ‘21 was named the Girls Best XI Goalkeeper in the Central region. As only a sophomore, she started 17 games for the Sabres between the U17 and U19 teams.

“Nadia’s individual growth this past year, coupled with her success on the field, was a big part of our team’s collective improvement this year. She earned her third and fourth call-ups to the U.S. Youth National Team and is deserving of this recent honor,” stated Vernon Croft, Director of Goalkeeping for SSM’s Girls Soccer COE Program.

Helping manage all the details behind the scenes for both SSM boys and girls soccer programs helped earn Marc Sutton the Central region’s Boys Administrator of the Year accolade. Marc, who began at SSM in 2009, will be beginning his 11th season as soccer manager beginning this fall.

"Marc has been, and continues to be, an excellent servant to SSM,” said Bushey. “In my short time here, he has proven invaluable, so the recognition is more than well deserved!”

This year’s awards carried even more prestige as this was the first year all age groups were considered for the same award. 

Congratulations to all!